Cool Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Friday morning. I was working when I received mail. For me!? I wondered who could send me something at this address, for I am not at my place. But I should have known. There is only one person organized enough to send me mail to wherever I am!

A big white envelope, from the Netherlands, made me smile broadly. Linda (more on her organization skills will follow in another post) sent me two Dutch magazines: Preview, with the latest movie news, and allerhande, the magazine from the biggest Dutch supermarket chain, Albert Heijn. Yummy!

I was already planning on a homemade high tea for Saturday, so I took allerhande to the beach to see if I could find a new, interesting recipe. But no, there was nothing interesting for a high tea. So, on Saturday, I made, amongst other things, scones and my recently tested Cool Carrot Cake Cupcakes. When I say tested, I mean product of a new recipe tried by volunteers, usually family and friends.

Homemade sconesSome weeks ago, I went on a picnic with my friends Elena, Luis, and Eva, José and their almost one year old daughter, Nimue. I wanted to make a carrot cake for dessert but thought it too unpractical to take with me and serve. So I turned the recipe from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook, slightly adapted, into cupcakes. And, since it was hot outside, I decided to serve them cool. Well, as cool as you can possibly serve something at a picnic held far far away. To be honest, they tasted better cooled than at room temperature. So: Cool Carrot Cake Cupcakes!

I love baking, but I hardly make anything for myself, as I would have to eat it all. So, whenever the occasion arises, I bake for others. When lunch, dinner, picnic, or any other occasion is planned where something sweet can be enjoyed, I offer myself up to make dessert and, thus, try out a new recipe. Sometimes, the result does not turn out as well as hoped, but I have not had any mayor complaints yet (touch wood it stays that way).

Strange as it may sound to those who do not like the hassle, I relax when baking. No matter how long it takes, no matter how many shops I have to visit to find all the necessary ingredients, no matter how much I have to clean afterwards. I relax. Well, it needs to be said that I am very grateful for dishwashers!

Grateful for dishwasher

The Cool Carrot Cake Cupcakes take a while to prepare, but the first time I made them I got a compliment that was worth the time. Eva, Elena, and I are testing the carrot cakes in Madrid. Not all of them, obviously, but whenever we meet for a coffee or tea, we try out the local carrot cake. Up until now, I think the three of us agreed that the best one was the one served at Living in London. But they said they liked my carrot cake cupcakes even better! Well, they are my friends…

So, here is the result of the Cool Carrot Cake Cupcakes I made yesterday.

Oops carrot cake cupcake

Oops. Sorry. Wrong picture. Here they are!

Homemade carrot cake cupcakes

4 thoughts on “Cool Carrot Cake Cupcakes

  1. Sending you Allerhande, a free magazine, costs a fortune in stamps. But knowing how much you like the magazine, I sometimes send it to you. Reading this blog, which is hard because I want cupcakes now, confirms it’s worth the postage costs.

    • I know! And I feel guilty when I see how much you spent on postage. But I’ll make up to you next time we see each other. I’ll bake the 4 C’s! 🙂

      • May be Linda can scan the magazine to save stamps…it will take away the nice feeling of paper in your hands :-). What are friends for…… I am not reallyh fond of cupcakes but when I read your blog I want to run to the bakery. Have a nice day ! Today in Holland we will have the hottest day ever. It can becaome 38 degrees Celcius at some places…….we need cool carrot cakes hahaha. Greetings from Wieke

Leave a comment